Strings Unbound

Released : November 22nd, 2010

Album Notes

Strings Unbound / Hilst & Coffey’s (now Coyote Willow) first album is an eclectic combination of rock, blues, folk & contemplative instrumentals. Based primarily around Breedlove artist Tim Coffey’s soulful baritone voice, finger style acoustic guitar and Kat Hilst’s enchanting cello work, Strings Unbound also features Julie Southwell (violin), Shireen Amini (vocals and cajon) and Patrick Pearsal on bass guitar. Although all compositions were written by Tim over a period of months, the introduction of the cello, after meeting Kat Hilst transformed the album into something quite unique. Musically and lyrically, the album moves from tunes like the rockabilly influenced “ Hello “ to the open tuned and lyrically moving folk style of “ Abel “ , written in memory of Tim’s grandfather. It also includes five instrumentals. One of which is “ Redemption “ a haunting gypsy jazz influenced piece, featuring only the acoustic guitar and cello. All in all, Strings Unbound is a musical journey that will have you rocking, thinking and maybe even crying. Enjoy!


Song List

  • Snow In October
  • Hello
  • Already There
  • Nita
  • 54 in the Pocket
  • Peace from the Needle
  • Redemption
  • Abel
  • Oh Yea
  • Coffey Blooze
  • Good Ride Today
  • Irish Seas
  • Tumbleweed
  • Expectations